UN Police



UN Police Officers from more than 40 countries are working in partnership with the people and government of Democratic Republic Of Timor Leste and in collaboration with other stakeholders, to restore peace and security, evolve a responsive, humane and professional police service dedicated to improving quality of life, openness and transparency, and promoting safe and secure communities.

Peace, Security, Law and Order



 Quick Facts and Figures


UN Police Commissioner: Luis Miguel Carrilho

Total UN Police strength: 1227 officers


Community Police strength: 738 officers 
Formed Police Units: Malaysian FPU: 140 officers; Bangladeshi FPU: 105 officers; Portuguese FPU: 138 officers and Pakistani FPU: 104 officers. 

Border Patrol Unit strength: Head-Quarters 7 officers, Dili airport 3 officers, Bobonaro BPU: 7 officers; Covalima BPU: 11 officers; Oecusse BPU: 9 officers.

Top five contributing countries:  Malaysia, Portugal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Philippines.

Other contributing countries:

Australia, Brazil, China, Croatia, El-Salvador, Egypt, Gambia, India, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nigeria, Romania,  Russia, Samoa, Senegal, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.



  UN Police Mandate 


In line with the United Nations (UN) Security Council Resolution 1704 (2006) of 25 August 2006, 1745 (2007) of 22 February 2007 and 1802 (2008) of 25 February 2008, the mandate for UNMIT Police is: 

  1. To ensure that there are constructive engagement between UNMIT police and Policia Nacional de Timor-Leste (PNTL) in developing the capacity and capability of the national police under the “Arrangement on the Restoration and Maintenance of Public Security in Timor-Leste and Assistance to the Reform, Restructuring and Rebuilding of PNTL and the Ministry of Interior (now known as the Ministry of Defense and Security, including the Office of the Secretary of State for Security)”; and
  2. To intensify the efforts to assist with further training, mentoring, institutional development and strengthening of the PNTL with a view to enhancing its effectiveness, including the addressing of the special needs of women, while continuing to ensure the restoration and maintenance of public security in Timor-Leste through the provision of support to PNTL, which includes interim law enforcement and public security until PNTL is reconstituted. 

Starting 2009, under the UN Security Council Resolution 1867 (2009) of 26 February 2009, the UNMIT police will support the gradual resumption of policing responsibilities by the PNTL beginning in 2009 through a phased approach, while continuing to support the PNTL in the maintenance of public security in Timor-Leste, which includes interim law enforcement and public security until the PNTL is fully reconstituted. 




The United Nations Police work with the National Police in all areas of policing. The UNPOL Police Commissioner, who leads the UNMIT Police Component, is supported by the Deputy Police Commissioner for Operations, the Deputy Police Commissioner for Administration and Development, the UNPOL Chief of Staff, the District Commanders and the Four Formed Police Unit Commanders. 

  • National Investigation Department: This department is comprised of a Criminal Investigation team, a Prosecutions Support Unit, a Vulnerable Person’s Unit, an Evidence, Handling and Forensics Unit and a Criminal Records Management Unit.
  • Operations Department: This department includes a National Operations Centre, Community Policing and Humanitarian Unit, coordination of the Formed Police Units, National Traffic Coordination Office, Close Security Protection Unit, Special Operations Unit, Border Patrol Coordination Office and an Electoral Security and Planning Unit.
  • Strategic Information Department: This department consists of an Information Processing Unit and a Criminal Intelligence Unit.
  • District United Nations Police: There are 13 UN Police District Headquarters, each covering a specific geographical area designated as District HQ. Each District HQ is supervised by a District Commander assisted by a Deputy District Commander who reports to the Police Commissioner through the chain of command.
  • Reform, Restructuring & Rebuilding Coordination Unit: This unit includes a Vetting, Selection, Registration and Certification of national police Unit, a Specialized Units of Advisers and Mentors, a Legislative Review & Advisory Unit, a Unit of Advisers and Mentors working at the national police headquarters and a Training Unit.
  • Strategic Planning Unit: This unit is comprises of a Policy Development Unit, a Program Development and Project Coordination Unit and an Operational Readiness Inspections, Evaluation & Assessment Unit.
  • Professional Standards and Discipline: This unit consists of a Conduct & Discipline Unit, an Internal Investigation Unit and an Audit & Evaluation Unit.




The United Nations Police Commissioner for Timor-Leste is Mr. Luis Miguel Carrilho. Mr. Carrilho assumed his duties on 23 February 2009. Prior to this appointment, Mr. Carrilho worked at the office of the President of the Republic of Portugal as the Head of Security, where he was responsible for overseeing the safety and security of the President and his Office. He also served as the Commander of Close Protection of the Security Police in Lisbon, commanding the provision of security protection for national principals and foreign dignitaries visiting Portugal. In the late 1990s, he worked as the Chief of Cabinet of the Director of the Police College in Portugal.



Mr. Carrilho first joined the United Nations in 1996, working primarily on training the civilian police with the United Nations Mission in Bosnia and Herzegovina (UNMIBH) until 1998. In 2000-2001, he returned to UN Peacekeeping with the United Nations Transitional Administration in East Timor (UNTAET). Under UNTAET, Mr. Carrilho served as the Director of the Timor-Leste Police Training College and as Spokesman of the United Nations Police then as the Special Assistant to the United Nations Police Commissioner.




The concept of community policing recognises the need to involve communities in both preventing and solving crime. In Timor-Leste, the United Nations Police have been working with the National Police to develop more community-friendly approaches to policing. In 2009, more intensive training will be provided on how police can work with communities to solve the issues contributing to crime.


There are four specialised Formed Police Units (FPU) comprised of Malaysian, Bangladeshi, Portuguese and Pakistani contingents. Permanently based in Dili, Baucau and Maliana, they are deployed throughout the country for special operations. The FPUs are mandated to provide static security, are dispatched for riot control and deal with civil disturbances. The Portuguese FPU also provide close protection for government leaders and include a water rescue and swat team. They also have specialised capacity to detonate unexploded ordnance.


Border Patrol Unit

Border Patrol Units (BPU) are posted in Covalima, Bobonaro and Oecusse to police and secure border areas. Members of the UN Police work with National Officers at the BPUs and collaborate with the TNI (Indonesian military). One of the main tasks of the BPU is to monitor, control and manage illegal immigration.




 Frequently Asked Questions about the resumption of responsibility






Arrangement on the restoration and maintenance of public security and on assistance to the reform, restructuring and rebuilding of the Timorese National Police.